Development Charge Incentives

Receive up to a 50% reduction in payable Regional Development Charges.

Niagara’s Development Charges Reduction Program provides a major financial incentive to encourage development and redevelopment in designated exemption areas and Brownfield sites in urban areas.


In October 2021, Regional Council approved an extension to the Smart Growth Regional Development Charges Reduction Program to Oct. 1, 2024.

The Smart Growth Regional Development Charge Reduction program provides a financial incentive to encourage development and redevelopment in Designated Exemption Areas and on brownfield sites within urban areas.

Projects meeting the program requirements are eligible for a grant resulting in a rebate of 50 per cent of Regional Development Charges. A map of the Designated Exemption Areas is available for those interested in learning more about the eligible areas.

Visit our website for details

Incentive programs described above are subject to cancellation and/or modification at any time. Applicants should contact Niagara Economic Development and/or their local Niagara municipality to obtain the most up-to-date information on incentive programs.

Smart Growth Criteria

Niagara’s Smart Growth Design Criteria were created as a tool to help both public and private stakeholders make more sustainable development choices in an effort to create vibrant urban centres, sustain a strong economy, ensure a healthy environment and combat urban sprawl.

To be eligible under the Transition Program, the following must be completed by Oct. 1, 2024:

  • A preliminary assessment must be completed with Regional staff
  • The owner and Niagara Region must enter into the transition agreement
  • All applicable Regional Development Charges must be paid
  • A building permit must have been obtained
  • Construction must have been initiated on at least one phase of the project

Find more information here.

Save up to 50%

of development charges

Significant savings

for sustainable choices

Refund on municipal property taxes for up to 10 years

News & Media

$49.9 million /239,000 square feet in 2022 office sales


$321.7 million /1.7 million square feet in 2022 retail building sales


$142.3 million /309,000 square feet in 2022 hospitality building sales


$256.3 million /1,125 acres in 2022 vacant land sales


$195.3 million /1.3 million square feet in 2022 industrial sales


$683.2 million 2022 non-residential building construction

Statistics Canada, 2022

$674.0 million 2021 non-residential building construction

Statistics Canada, 2022

2nd most cost-competitive centre for business in Ontario


  • Contact Us Today

    For general enquiries call 1-800-263-7215 x3334, email or fill out the form below.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Subscribe to receive news & updates in your inbox.